Stirling County Council. Eastern No 3 District Council records

Primary maker
Stirling County Council. Eastern No 3 District Council
Production date

Object detail

Name/title notes
Eastern No 3 District Council covered the areas of Slamannan and Muiravonside Parish Councils.
District Councils were established following the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929. They were set up by the relevant County Council and although they were separate legal entities, the membership was made up of all the county councillors for the electoral divisions in the district along with a few separately elected members. They inherited many of the responsibilities of the parish councils which were abolished. They also undertook work as agents for the County Council and were involved in various joint committees with other local authorities. Until 1948 they also administered poor relief. District councils were abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973 (c. 65).
It should be noted that their powers differed from those of the district councils which existed from 1975 to 1996.
Eastern No 3 District included the villages of Avonbridge, Limerigg, Maddiston, Rumford, Standburn, Slamannan, and Whitecross. The District Clerk, James Waddell was based in Brightons and was also the Clerk for Eastern No 2.
Level of current record
Production date
127 items (1.6m)
Archives finding aids
This catalogue entry provides a summary of the whole collection. Please use the search tools on the Collections Browser to look for information about individual items in this collection.

You can also see a catalogue of the items in this collection on our website
Access restriction
Restriction notes
Lair records closed for 75 years under Data Protection Act
Accession number


My shortlist

Group record

Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.